Still Wonky

It seems to take longer to recover: I remember when I could fly back from the Old County and be functional the next day.  No more.  Nowadays it seems that I stumble along in a fog for several days before finding my rhythm again.  I find myself sitting and staring at the screen with no recollection of what I was supposed to do. 

Call me Imelda:My hard-to-fit feet are a real challenge.  Very narrow, scary pronation, an arch that is closer to the heel than normal, arthritis already nagging at my big toe, and a bony structure that tires easily without good padding.  Add it all up and you get a very difficult fit indeed.  So I’ve spent most of my adult life on a search for the ideal shoe.  It has been years since I have had a running shoe that I didn’t loathe, so it was with great joy that I found a trail runner by Teva that provides excellent stability, has a super deep heel counter to accommodate my heavy-duty sports orthotics, and is lightweight.  Add to that a dark color that doesn’t scream “stupid Yank walking around in athletic shoes!” and I’m thrilled.  Oh, and my mom’s $10-off coupon helped, too!  For the price of a crappy pair of plastic shoes in Israel, I have the best sports shoes I’ve had in years.  Check out the TevaPro X-1 Control Wraptor Lite.  And no, I don’t have stock in the company…

Naughty dog update: Terri eats a piece of my coffee table this morning.  Yes, the brand new coffee table from IKEA now looks like a shark gnawed the corner off.  I try to stay calm while applying firm parenting skills.  Nadine stands by and offers rude suggestions.  “Throw the damn mutt off the balcony!” she urges, meowing frantically.  Terri bides her time and then tries to pounce on Nadine when I’m not looking.  Nadine hisses and whacks her.  The dog is twice her size (though probably only a kilo more than her), but Nadine is fearless and pissed off.  She also shoulders Terri out of the way to get at the dog kibble, which she finds a lot more interesting than her cat food.

Leave a Reply

