Birthday Alert!

Leah at age sevenIt’s that time again:  Yeah, another year, another birthday.  Time flies like arrows; fruit flies like bananas.  Seems like just the other day I was trotting off to second grade.  (Note the stylishly color-coordinated outfit and the briefcase; no stupid Snoopy backpack for me!)  And yes, I did have bags under my eyes at age seven, so there!  So maybe I haven’t aged that much.

Age is really a state of mind.  I can choose:

  • 48 (chronological)
  • 336 (dog years)
  • 14 (emotional age after watching almost anything on mainstream TV)
  • 30 (in Hexadecimal)

Actually, 30 sounds pretty good, so I may stop there.  My accountant’s bookkeeper professed to be shocked on hearing my real age, so I’ll take that as a compliment (unless, of course, she was implying that she had thought that I was far older).  But I’ll count my blessings: good teeth, a firm jawline, no “Hadassah” arms (the dreaded flabby tricep), and no gray hair.  Of course, there is a wonky heart, night blindness, arthritis, hot flashes, and plantar fasciitis to remind me of how ancient I really am.

But it’s my birthday, so I hereby proclaim it to be a joyous day for all.  Have a triple-shot cappuccino.  Hog the shower.  Wear a bindi.  Wink at a cute stranger.  Go ahead.  After all, we only live once.

8 responses to “Birthday Alert!

  1. Happy birthday, Leah. Ad meah v’esrim.

  2. Mazel tov, Leah !!! I remember being 48.

    I think I do, anyway.

  3. Happy Birthday, Leah. Hope you’re having a great one.

  4. As you can all see, even at age 7 Leah might have been geeky, but definitely not one to be messed with! So where’s the photo of the oh-so-chic gift I got you?

  5. Oh, c’mon! I look perfectly harmless! As for that unspeakable cat bag, I don’t think I would have carried it around even at age 7!

  6. I’m a day late, sorry! But happy birthday anyway…

  7. belated birthday greetings

  8. Yes, but now your fans are just dying to have a glimpse of it!

Leave a Reply

